Meaford vs Purdytown 

Meaford vs Purdytown. Conflict over the name of a new community was not unusual in early Grey County but electing a school trustee was the "hot button" issue in this rivalry.

In the late fall of 1833 Charles Rankin and his crew of surveyors arrived at the mouth of the Big Head River. Their presence was due to Rankin's orders to survey the regions which would become the Townships of St. Vincent and Collingwood. Despite the fact that they had landed at the mouth of the Big Head, it would be several years before that area experienced significant settlement. 

In 1839 David Miller and his family arrived at the mouth of the Big Head River and began clearing land on Lot 15, Concession 5 of St. Vincent Township. Indirectly, the Millers were responsible for the first name given to the settlement which started to develop at the mouth of the river. After Miller had built his. log house he opened his doors to arriving settlers providing them with food and shelter until the became established on their new property. These newcomers called the area to which they arrived, Peggy's Landing after Miller's wife Peggy. 

A few years after David Miller arrived, William Stevenson arrived and settled on Lot 17, Concession 5 on the Georgian Bay shoreline northwest of the mouth of the river. Stevenson built an inn (tavern) which became a popular resting spot for incoming settlers. This led to the area being called Stevenson's Landing. When Stevenson became the first postmaster in the area, he added a store and a post office to the building which housed his inn. 

David Miller Junior, the younger son of the first settler, tried his hand at establishing a mill to serve the needs of the growing agricultural community. His first effort was on a small creek which branched off the Big Head River. When that failed, he built a dam on the Big Head and built a larger grist mill. How far he got on this venture is unknown, because in 1844 he sold the operation to Moses Chantler, a man with considerable experience in the milling industry. 

"Peggy's Landing", 'Stevenson's Landing" and "Big Head" were all names given to the small community that was developing around the mouth of the river. In the mid-184Qs the colonial government decided that they had better take some steps to organize a town site. In William Gibbard, was sent to survey Lot 16, Concession 5 into village lots. 

The proposed village was called Meaford, after Meaford Hall, the residence of Sir John Jervis, Earl of St. Vincent whom the township had been after. 

The new village lots went on the auction block in 1846. The first to purchase a lot was Joseph Hamilton who set up a blacksmith shop. In 1847 C.R. Sing opened the first carding operation in Grey County. Sing would become a significant leader in the community and after Grey County was formed, he would serve many terms as reeve of the township and one term as the Warden of Grey County. 

The village had been known by three names before it officially became Meaford. But its identity as a unified community also came under assault from its neighbours on the lots both on the north and the south: Despite the establishment of an official village on Lot 16, Stevenson, located on Lot 17 worked hard to develop the region to the north and gave the area the name of North Meaford. While there was a rivalry between these two "communities" the intensity was pale compared to the tensions between Meaford and the community on its southern boundary. 

Lot 15, originally developed by the Millers, was owned by Jesse Purdy. During the ensuing years he had worked hard to develop his area. His efforts included having his land surveyed into a village plot. He called the new settlement, Purdytown. 

This rivalry reached its height of intensity in 1854 when a meeting was called to elect a school trustee. Neither community could agree on a site for the meeting. Finally, it was decided that the meeting would be held under a large elm tree on the boundary between the two settlements. When the representatives from Purdytown were elected over their Meaford competitors, the Meaford people withdrew from the school board and established their own school. 

Needless to say, the development of Meaford was an exciting period in the early history of that region of Grey County! 

The information used in this article came from files in the Grey County Archives.

A version of this story first appeared in my Local History column in the Owen Sound Sun Times on April 20, 2001.

  1. History Articles
  2. History Pages
  3. Meaford vs. Purdytown

More Grey County Pages

12-year-old Walks to Owen Sound in 1851 from the journal of a teenage boy's experience travelling with his brother in the untamed Upper Canadian wilderness.

1st Grey County Building in 1852 was only built after many hurdles were overcame.

Dr. Anna Henry  from Markdale, was a medical trailblazer for women doctors in Canada, who helped lay the groundwork for the establishment for Women's College Hospital.

Egremont Township endured the usual growing pains of a pioneer community, but its early history records times when it was embroiled in a few contentious issues. 

Euphrasia Township in the early years when spelling the name was a problem for those who called it home and those that wanted settle this new Grey County township.

Georgian Bay's 1st pioneer settler arrived on the western shoreline long before any other settler reached the area.

Grey County Heritage: A Valuable Resource which is rich and varied, as an important resource for future use for business, political, and many other purposes.

Grey County's Creation in 1852, laid the framework for organizing a county in the last wilderness in the southern region of what would become in the future the province of Ontario.

An Unlikely Hero From Grey County (Part 1) found his way from the farming community of Flesherton to missionary work in the Ottawa Valley, and beyond.

An Unlikely Hero Vs. The KKK (Part 2) Our hero from Grey County took his missionary zeal south of the border and ultimately crossed paths with the infamous KKK!

Barn Raising: A Pioneer Economic and Social Necessity as it provided settlers with an opportunity not only to build a barn, but also build a community.

"Barring Out": A Pioneer School Tradition was a custom which the settlers brought to the new world from England, or Scotland.

Ceylon Ontario: How it Got its Name: It is always interesting how a community got its name, but I doubt any place received its name from a more unique source!

Chatsworth Ontario: First Settlers took advantage of fulfilling the needs of pioneer travellers and built a thriving community in the Upper Canadian wilderness.

Clearing Trees a Daunting Task for Settlers as they worked to fulfill their obligations for their land grant.

Dornoch: or is it Smithville? Originally it was Smithville, then it became Dornoch. But, surprise it is still, in reality Smithville!

First Pioneer in Durham: Archibald Hunter established his family, and a hotel, in what would become the centre of the town of Durham.

Durham Ontario Influenced by the Saugeen River. This river provided a means to create new industries, but especially in the spring it can also pose a menace to the community.

Grey County Bylaws to the 1890s reveal a lot about the financing of local government, especially education in the early days of the region.

John Muir, the legendary naturalist, who promoted the idea of protected nature spaces, spent time in Ontario and I went to help find evidence of his stay in the Owen Sound area.

A Heroic Woman From Grey County who made great changes as a doctor in China in the 1890s and early 1900s.

Jesse James: In Grey County? An interesting question. Did the notorious gangster hide out in Proton Township? We will never know. But it is fun to speculate!

Kilsyth's Train Engine was one for the history books. It brought an evening of joy followed by disappointing news soon after.

The Knight's of Meaford have long history in that Grey County community. Their business forged by early settlers employed many locals and supported the economy.

Leith: Tom Thomson's Birthplace is part of the rich heritage of this community located on the east shore of the Georgian Bay north of Owen Sound.

The Leith Golf Course has provided many families with great memories. The history of this golf course starts, and ends, with the generosity of one family.

Agnes Macphail was a political trailblazer in a part of Ontario that one could hardly expect such radical action for the era in a rural region.

Markdale Ontario: The Beginning: originally known as Glenelg East, but the coming of the railway and the name of owner of the land for the station led to a change of identity.

Meaford's history is one of hardy and entrepreneurial pioneers carving their lives out of the wilderness of what would become Grey County.

Meaford Ontario, first called Peggy's Landing located on the shores of Georgian Bay has a rich history.

Meaford vs Purdytown. Conflict over the name of a new community was not unusual in early Grey County but electing a school trustee was the "hot button" issue in this rivalry.

Pioneer Clergyman: John Neelands was the first to minister to the first settlers' spiritual needs riding on horseback through the wilds of early Grey County.

Pioneer Doctor: Dr. James Smith, a local boy who became a doctor and served his community for his entire life was a testament to Grey County community spirit.

Pioneer Healthcare in Grey and Bruce counties was not administered by doctors, nurses, or pharmacists, no it was the responsibility of the women of the community.

Pioneer Homes in Grey County in the 1840s offered only basic amenities. Homes were basic because clearing the land to earn a living to survive were of paramount importance for those embarking on a new life.

Pioneer Ingenuity created many labour saving devices and methods and quite often helped to create a sense of community.

Pioneer Christmas: A Family Tradition as told to me by may grandparents who experienced Christmas as children in the 1880s and 1890s.

Pioneer Settlement Plans for Grey County began almost two decades before the rest of Grey County was available for settlement.

A pioneer road surveyor's impact on the local history of Grey and Bruce counties could have been dramatic, if it had not been changed by another surveyor.

Pioneer Teachers in Grey and Bruce Counties had a long and arduous task, not to mentions strict and confining job requirements for very little salary.

Plowing Match in Grey County in 1933 the first International Plowing Match held in Grey and Bruce counties and it's success led to more such events in Grey.

Settling Osprey Township: Parts of Osprey were considered too rugged to settle, but today they are prime real estate because of the great view!

Swamp College: Proton Township: this colourfully named institution of education in Grey County has provided many stories to the heritage of the region.

Sydenham Township's First Council undertook the often difficult task of creating a new municipal infrastructure.

The Impact of Snow is not what is Used to be! As snow removal equipment has improved the impact of snow on our lives has reduced significantly from previous eras.

Unique Characters: Nathaniel Herriman lived in Grey County and owned an inn to provide food and and accommodation to early travellers. Each day he performed a unique practice.

Unique Maps: Quilts Guided the Underground Railroad to enable runaway slaves to escape to Canada and freedom from the shackles that enslaved them.

The Women's Institute is a group of rural women that has made a difference to the quality of both urban and rural life in Grey County and across the country.